The Journey Begins.

Screen Shot 2012-08-09 at 11.05.46 PM

That’s me on the left, my husband on the right, and our two pals Mickey and Walt in the middle.

I have always loved to write.  Throughout my time as a student of history, I’ve had to write more papers than I can even begin to count. My Masters Thesis was about the history of Catholic education in Philadelphia. Why?  Because my major is “History for Educators,” I used to teach in a Catholic school, and I am from Philadelphia.  Makes sense? Good.

In June of 2012, the school I was teaching at sadly closed. I decided to concentrate on finishing grad school while working a part time job, but now that I’ve finished my Masters’ degree, I have to admit to feeling a bit lost.

I don’t know when I’ll find something full-time again, or even if I chose the right field to major in, and if I didn’t choose the right field, then what the heck am I going to do?? and, AND, AND …and instead of worrying about things I can’t control (which is pretty much what I do 24/7), my husband suggested I get a hobby.  So, I chose writing.  This blog will be my “fun” hobby, since I spent so much of my time writing about serious things.

I came up with the idea for this blog  a year and a half ago (August 2012), after we returned from our Grand California Adventure.  Obviously, since it is now January 2014, I never got around to publishing anything. I had hand-written some reviews on the plane ride home, and then quickly typed them, but never got around to editing them for publishing.  Then, in December, my dog jumped up to say hello to me, which caused me to knock a glass of wine onto my brand new MacBook Pro, and, long story short, the files were lost forever.  Writing a blog was placed in the background of my mind as I focused on other things.  Then, suddenly, the writing bug bit me again. With my new-found enthusiasm, I dusted off my hand-written notes, re-typed the first review, and was oh-so-proud of myself… until I somehow managed to save it to the Twilight Zone, placing me back at square one.

The old me would take all of this as a sign that I’m not supposed to write this stupid blog, but the new me won’t take no for an answer (at least not until it happens again, then I will probably give up).

  • I will talk about all the fun (and not so fun things) that my husband, family, friends and I have done in the past at not only Walt Disney World and Disneyland Resort, but on other trips we have taken as well.
  • I will discuss planning for future trips, visits to zoos, museums, restaurants, and probably my dog.
  • I have no children, but I do have a dog. A crazy, anxiety-ridden, allergy-laden, yet oh-so-loveable cockapoo (that’s a cocker spaniel/poodle mix for everyone who’s giggling out there), named Clark.

Here’s your first look:
IMG_0939

If you’ve made it this far in reading this boring introductory post, I hope you will join me on my journey to explore not only the World of Disney, but the World* as a whole.

*I’ve only left the U.S. once, to go to England in 2005. My husband is afraid of both flying (although he fights through it), and cruising (but thanks to Carnival, I may never get him on one now). International travel is also quite pricey, so unless we hit the lottery, there probably won’t be any “worldy” posts for a while. But some day there will be.  Some day.

Leave a Reply

